Three Houses

the unofficial forum for British punk rock band SHARKS (2007-13) & its successors (THE VIOLENT HEARTS, 2014- & THEIR LONELY BETTERS, 2014-)
 
HomeFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Latest topics
» new The Violent Hearts line-up and gig, The Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham, 3/3/17
by museums Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 am

» The Computers
by museums Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:19 am

» new music from James Mattock: The Violent Hearts
by Fallen On Deaf Ears Fri Oct 24, 2014 5:00 am

» The Penalty EP - vinyl
by museums Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:07 pm

» Their Lonely Betters
by gloveinhand Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:23 pm

» Starting Out! Looking for Anything and Everything.
by museums Thu May 22, 2014 8:37 am

» The Penalty (lyrics)
by Admin Thu Mar 06, 2014 8:51 am

» Sharks t-shirt on cover of Jennifer Rostock's 'Schlaflos'
by museums Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:57 pm

» Sharks call it a day
by PJayBe Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:53 pm

» Looking to complete my collection...(HELP)
by orwellaintdead Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:29 pm

» looking for..
by orwellaintdead Sat Nov 02, 2013 7:47 pm

» Dream Setlist?
by orwellaintdead Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:07 pm


Share | 
 

 preview article and interview re. No Gods

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
museums
It All Relates
It All Relates
avatar

Posts : 150
Join date : 2010-10-31

PostSubject: preview article and interview re. No Gods   Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:11 pm

from http://www.entertainment-focus.com/news/sharks-to-release-debut-lp


Sharks To Release Debut LP

Submitted by Sarah Bargiela on Sun, 01/01/2012 - 15:51 0 0


Following on from the debut 2008 Shallow Waters EP and the much acclaimed 2010 follow up Show Of Hands EP, and the Zane Lowe, Dan P Carter and Fearne single Sweet Harness, SHARKS are finally set to release the debut full length album, No Gods, on March 19th through Rise Records. Produced and recorded September 2011 with Brian McTernan [Thrice, Cave In, Hot Water Music] in Baltimore at his Salad Days studio, The band will also be on tour across the UK in March and April around the release of the album, full dates listed below.

Instead of merely adopting the rules and regulations of the iconoclastic chaos of punk or British indie music the youthful UK quartet—James Mattock (Vocals, Guitar), Andrew J. Bayliss (Guitar), Sam Lister (Drums), and Tony Corrales (Bass) —swims in a space between both styles. Over the course of eleven infectious anthems, Sharks sharpen timeless melodies with an explosive edge tempered by intricate riffing and hypnotic harmonies. It's pure, poetic, and powerful.

In many ways, frontman Mattock's diverse musical palette informs the sound of Sharks. As a child, he couldn't really escape music, and he turned to it as more than a simple diversion. "I didn't grow up with many friends," confesses the 21-year-old singer. "I am who I am because I admired and studied so many incredible songwriters and musicians as a kid. I was always extremely interested in what my favorite artists actually had to say." He got an earful too. His grandfather introduced him to the likes of Johnny Cash and Bob Dylan, simultaneously teaching the ten-year-old Mattock how to strum his first chords. His Mum's tastes spanned everything from Elvis Costello and Tom Petty to Oasis and The Lemonheads. However, he discovered what really fueled him by hanging out with his dad. Once Mattock heard The Ramones, all bets were off. That punk spirit had become awakened in him. He'd sit for hours on end reading Crass lyrics and spinning classic albums from The Clash and Minor Threat. The frontman elaborates, "The Clash perked up my ears. I loved how they were outspoken about their beliefs. Interesting, artful, and thoughtful music have kept me going.

SHARKS as a fully formed band didn't formally come to life until 2007. Jamming with school pals Bayliss and Lister, Mattock began penning songs that would make up their first independent EP, Shallow Waters, in 2008. Off the back of this EP, the band drummed up a serious buzz while playing and touring with the likes of Gallows, The Wedding Present, and Baby Shambles. Still barely old enough to drive, the group then garnered critical acclaim for their ‘Show of Hands’ EP in 2010. Press and praise from the likes of Zane Lowe, Dan P Carter and Mike Davies at Radio 1, Kerrang, The Fly, Classic Rock, Rock Sound, XFM, Clash, Wonderland, The Guardian, NME, Big cheese and more. The band capitalized on this growing support with the opening slot on The Gaslight Anthem tour in the UK and Europe.

Around the same time, they caught the attention of Rise Records, who became their stateside home, dropping a collection of previously released EP tracks, The Joys of Living 2008-2010. The group set foot on U.S. soil touring with Social Distortion, The 2011 Van's Warped Tour, and the 2011 Alternative Press Tour (where they ALSO graced the cover of AP Magazine with Gallows, Title Fight and Four Year Strong) as Mick Jones, Brian Fallon [Gaslight Anthem], and Frank Carter [Gallows] all continually voiced their public support of Sharks.

Everything simply laid the groundwork for No Gods. On the album, the band's sound evolved into a more expansive beast. You can hear it loud and clear on the title track. It was the first song written for the album, and it spawned everything. Beyond the eye-catching title, it's something of a call-to-arms for the band. "It's not anti-religion or anything like that," he affirms. "The song is super positive, and it's not meant to be offensive. It continues the punk ethos that everyone has a right to think for themselves. It's a liberal attitude. When you have no gods, you can make your own choices. When you're not worried about everyone else's opinion, you can be yourself. People get caught up in this Facebook world and become overly preoccupied with what everyone else thinks of them. We believe in what we're doing and we believe in ourselves. We're not trying to pander to anyone. This is exactly what we want to do. Be your own god, be an individual."

Elsewhere on the record, album opener Til' The Wonders Rise snakes from a jagged speedy guitar into a gritty punk refrain, while Able Moving Heart" is refreshingly raw and On A Clear Day You Can See Yourself floats on a twang-y lead and Brit-rock hook. He reveals, "It's always pulled right from my gut. It's a mixed bag of dark and light emotions. You can connect with people really easily by being honest with yourself. I go through what most young people go through and think about. I get off on trying to make sense of life in my lyrics. Hopefully, they speak for themselves."

Ultimately, Sharks don't need Gods to make divine rock 'n' roll. "We paid the least attention that we possibly could have to current scenes and trends," declares Mattock. "It moves so fucking quickly anyway that 'what's popular' doesn't concern me. I love and respect the bands that last because of quality. We're not getting caught up in the moment. We're the same band we were when we started, and we'll always be Sharks."


No Gods track-listings:

1. ‘Til The Wonders Rise

2. Arcane Effigies

3. Able Moving Hearts

4. On A Clear Day, You Can See Yourself

5. Matthew’s Baby

6. Patient Spider

7. Turn To You

8. Dawn Soft Light

9. What Entails

10. Luck

11. No Gods


UK live dates March/April 2012:

Sun 25 Mar Wrexham - Central Station

Mon 26 Mar Manchester - Star and Garter

Tue 27 Mar Birmingham - Rainbow

Wed 28 Mar Glasgow - King Tuts

Thu 29 Mar York - Stereo

Sat 31 Mar Nottingham - Rock City Basement

Sun 01 Apr Cardiff - Ifor Bach

Mon 02 Apr Bristol - Croft

Tue 03 Apr London - Lexington

Wed 04 Apr Brighton - Green Door Store

Thu 05 Apr Tunbridge Wells - The Forum

Fri 06 Apr Kingston - Fighting Cocks

SHARKS are:
Vocals / Guitar - James Mattock
Guitar - Andy Bayliss
Drums - Samuel Lister
Bass – Tony Corales


Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
preview article and interview re. No Gods
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» article on Michael' death (interview with Cindy Landon)
» Interview with Playboy June 2000
» Doomlord article in the new SFX
» Dames of Dialogue Interview w/D. K. Christi
» Old interview with Tuomas Pirinen on Strike to Stun

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Three Houses :: Sharks :: Interviews, Reviews & Press-
Jump to: